SGAM as the main architecture framework

The SGAM framework and its methodology are intended to present the design of Smart Grid use cases in an architectural but solution- and technology-neutral manner. The SGAM principles and usages is fully detailed in the IEC SRD 63200 (to come).

The SGAM plane

In general, power system management distinguishes between the electrical process and information management viewpoints. These viewpoints can be partitioned into the physical domains of the electrical energy conversion chain and the hierarchical zones (or levels) for the management of the electrical process. This Smart Grid plane (see on the left) enables the representation onf the levels (hierarchical zones) ofn which power system management interactions between domains or inside a single domain take place.

The SGAM interoperability layers

The SGAM framework consists of five layers representing business objectives and processes, functions, information exchange and models, communication protocols and components. These five layers represent an abstract and condensed version of the GWAC interoperability categories. Each layer covers the smart grid plane, which is spanned by electrical domains and information management zones.

A 3D framework

The SGAM framework is finally established by merging the concept of the interoperability layers with the previously introduced smart grid plane. This merge results in a model (see on the left) which spans three dimensions:

  • X: Domain
  • Y: Zone
  • Z: Interoperability (Layer)